Our history

The history of the Montreux Riviera Ski School is more than a ski school ... it is a bit like the history of winter tourism on the Riviera. Both towards Les Avants and on the Glion-Caux-Rochers-de-Naye axis, several ski schools have sprung up, split up, merged or disappeared over the years. We must therefore salute M. Parisod (Aux Avants) and M. Müller (Glion) and others before them who gave thrills on the snowy slopes of the municipalities of Montreux and Veytaux.

It was in 1979  that Wim Pasquier founded the Swiss Ski School of Vallon de Villard, attached to the Ski School of M. Parisod in Les Avants. A good skier, Wim will soon have passed the "patent" and become independent on the Vallon ski lifts.

When Mr. Parisod Jr. retired in 1989, Wim took over the Les Avants side of the Cubly crest. It will be the golden age of skiing at Vallon de Villard. For years, Montreux schoolchildren ride by coach or with their parents to learn to ski in a fun atmosphere. It will soon be Mr. Müller's turn to bow out and only one ski school will be present in Montreux. This was the time when the Swiss Ski School of Vallon de Villard became the Swiss Ski School of Rochers-de-Naye.

The name changed again in 2007 to better represent the mixed character of the ESS. From now on, it will be called the Swiss Ski School of Montreux. It is urban and organizes ski trips in all the Swiss Alps but it continues to offer its lessons in the pleasant ski areas of the heights of Montreux for skiers and snowboarders of all levels.

Wim will be fully and officially retiring from ESS Montreux in 2016, leaving many memories and big accolades. A whole generation will have learned to ski with him!

Now managed by Ketsia Pasquier-Désilets, Wim's youngest daughter, the ESS Montreux Riviera is looking to the future. Its two priorities are to revive to the best of its ability, in collaboration with the Ski Club Montreux Glion Caux, the Rochers-de-Naye site and the Municipality of Montreux as well as to ensure the best possible winter experience for all its customers, young and old.

In 2019, ESS Montreux Riviera celebrates its 40th anniversary ...  Be part of history with us !!

Bannière_40_ans.jpg

Ecole Suisse de Ski

Montreux Riviera

Sécurité - Plaisir - Performance

Ecole suisse de ski Montreux Riviera
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

Notre Histoire

L'histoire de l'Ecole de Ski Montreux Riviera, c'est l'histoire de bien plus qu'une école de ski... C'est c’est un peu l'histoire du tourisme d'hiver sur la Riviera. Autant vers Les Avants que dans sur l'axe Glion-Caux-Rochers-de-Naye, plusieurs écoles de ski ont vu le jour, se sont scindées, fusionnées ou ont disparues au cours des années. Il faut donc saluer les M. Parisod (Aux Avants) et M. Müller (Glion) et d'autres avant eux qui ont fait vivre des sensations fortes sur les pentes enneigées des communes de Montreux et Veytaux.

C'est en 1979 que Wim Pasquier fonde l'Ecole Suisse de ski du Vallon de Villard, rattachée à l'Ecole de Ski de M. Parisod aux Avants. Bon skieur, Wim aura tôt fait de passer la "patente" et de devenir indépendant sur les téléskis du Vallon.

À la retraite de M. Parisod fils en 1989, Wim reprend le côté Les Avants de la crête du Cubly. Ce sera l'âge d'or du ski au Vallon de Villard. Pendant des années, les écoliers de Montreux montent en car ou avec leurs parents pour apprendre à skier dans une ambiance ludique. C'est bientôt au tour de M. Müller de tirer sa révérence et une seule école de ski sera présente à Montreux. C'est l'époque où l'Ecole Suisse de ski du Vallon de Villard devient l'Ecole Suisse de ski des Rochers-de-Naye.

Le nom change encore une fois en 2007 pour mieux représenter le caractère mixte de l'ESS. Désormais, on l'appellera l'Ecole Suisse de Ski de Montreux. Elle est urbaine et organise des sorties de ski dans toutes les Alpes suisses mais elle continue d'offrir ses cours sur les sympathiques domaines skiables des hauts de Montreux pour les skieurs et snowboarders de tous les niveaux.

Wim prendra sa retraite complète et officielle de l'ESS de Montreux en 2016, laissant de nombreux souvenirs et de grandes accolades. Toute une génération aura appris à skier avec lui!

Aujourd'hui dirigée par Ketsia Pasquier-Désilets, fille cadette de Wim, l'ESS Montreux Riviera est tournée vers l'avenir. Ses deux priorités sont de réanimer au mieux de ses possibilités, en collaboration avec le Ski Club Montreux Glion Caux, le site des Rochers-de-Naye et la Commune de Montreux ainsi que d’assurer la meilleure expérience hivernale possible à tous ses clients, petits et grands.

En 2019, l'ESS Montreux Riviera fête ses 40 ans d'existence... Faites partie de l'histoire avec nous!!

Plan du site
Nos partenaires
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon

© 2017 by Ecole Suisse de Ski Montreux Riviera.  Created by NICOV.